Libra, the Scales


          Libra is the seventh astrological sign, only one that is a symbol neither animal nor human. The scales represent balance and justice, harmony, and equilibrium.

          It is also associated with the Harvest, like Virgo. In ancient times, grains and crops are weighed on scales after they are harvested. The most interesting thing is they are scales of judgment for the dead, where souls are weighed to see if they are good or bad.

          Now, in the religion of the Egyptians, the scales of judgment were the sole province of the God Arubis , whom is the conductor of souls. He guided the dead through the underworld and made sure they were weighed fairly as possible. He was the master of balance. There is a painting that exists where it shows a judgment scene, and its called, “Papyrus of Ani”, dated round 1500 B.C.

          Arubis is crunching by a large scale and weighs the heart of a dead person. There are two bowls: in one bowl, rests the heart; 2nd bowl, truth sits and is symbolized by a feather. In this representation, the scale is equally balanced. In the religion of Egyptians, the dead heart had to be in harmony with truth before it passes into after life.


Check out my sister site to Miracles n Magic to read the Characteristics & Compatibility of Libra

~ by celestialpowers on December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: